OCBS employs two part-time staff and benefits greatly from the help of volunteers.  For more details on our Staff please visit the Contact Page.

The OCBS has nine Trustees:

  • Charles Shaw is the Chair of Trustees.
  • Richard Gombrich, is the Boden Professor of Sanskrit Emeritus. He first proposed the idea of a Centre for Buddhist Studies in 2002, and has served on the Board since its founding, including fulfilling the role of Chair of Trustees, and Academic Director of the Centre from 2011 – 2020.

Click here for full details of Richard’s career. [a Word file   ~5MB]

  • Ramesh Kapadia is the Honorary Treasurer. He studied mathematics at Warwick, and then at  Brasenose College, Oxford before completing a doctorate at  Nottingham University. He now acts as an educational consultant after a long career culminating in becoming one of Her Majesty’s Inspectors, a role he undertook for over twenty years.  He is currently Honorary Professor at the University of Klagenfurt and occupied a similar position at the Institute of Education, University of London from 2009-2012.
  • Tony Morris holds a doctorate in history from Cambridge University. He ran the world’s largest history list at Oxford University Press, was a founding director of Hambledon and London (Sunday Times Small Publisher of the Year 2001-2002) and first Chief Executive of The History Press. He is also a published author, partner in an historical walks company and co-director of Historyfm, the UK’s only multi-media history agency.
  • Originally from Shan State, Union of Burma, Khammai Dhammasami has a doctorate from Oxford. The incumbent of the Oxford Buddha Vihara, he also heads the International Association of Buddhist Universities ( and has been involved in organising the UN day of Vesak, based in Bangkok since 2005. He travels the world both in that capacity and as teacher and meditation master. He has a key role in the OCBS’ relations with the Sangha and Buddhist Universities in Theravada countries and more widely across Asia. Supporters of the Oxford Buddha Vihara have offered much voluntary help to the OCBS.
  • David Gellner (Bio forthcoming)
  • Jonathan Katz (Bio forthcoming)
  • Roger Farmer (Bio forthcoming
  • Justin Meiland (Bio forthcoming)

Geoffrey Bamford. We are sad to announce that Geoffrey Bamford died in 2023.  He gained a 1st class degree in Sanskrit and Pali from Oxford University in 1970, then did 4 years’ postgraduate work, both in Oxford, at Wolfson College. and in Sri Lanka and India. From 1974 he had a business career; from 1986 to 2000, he ran an independent consultancy in cross-cultural communication. In 2003, he helped to found the OCBS, and has since been a Trustee. From 2003-11 he served as Executive Director, working full time pro bono. In 2008, he in addition helped to found the Oxford Mindfulness Centre, where he also served as Executive Director 2008-11. Since 2011, and ran the Traditional Scholar Visitorship scheme.

The OCBS has a Publications Committee:


The OCBS also has an Advisory Board:

  • Prof. Paul M. Harrison – George Edward Burnell Chair in Religious Studies at Stanford University
  • Prof. Florin Deleanu – Professor at the International Institute for Buddhist Studies (affiliated to the International College for Postgraduate Buddhist Studies)

To see the CV’s of the members of our Advisory Board please click on their individual names.